The Governing Body is responsible for determining the aims and overall conduct of the School.  It sets and reviews the policies, plans and procedures that will ensure the best possible education for present and future pupils of the School, including the proper control of its finances.  (Governing Bodies Association)

All Governors and the Clerk are subject to background checks by Disclosure Scotland.

All Governors are Directors of Loretto School Limited.

Clerk to the Governors is Claire Watt

Contact with the governors is welcomed.

Peter McCutcheon Phillippa Hussey
Christian Bruce Simon Pengelley
Catriona Campbell Alistair Rutherford
Colin Davidson Guy Stern
Casey Stern Emma Watson Mack


A pool of potential Governors is continuously maintained by the Nominations Committee. The Committee identifies any gaps in the Board against the criteria set out below. All Governors are expected to suggest on a continual basis to the Clerk, the names of individuals to be added to the pool.

At the Spring Board meeting the Committee will recommend to the Board individuals from the pool to be invited to join the Board with effect from the following September.

The initial appointment is for five years renewable by mutual consent for a further five years, after which retirement would occur unless the person is or will become a Vice-chair or the Chair of the Governors. A year of appointment runs with the academic year.

The Board has a list of skillsets and experience that it aims to have reflected in its membership. The Board also seeks a sensible balance between Governors who are parents at Loretto and those who are not; Governors who are Old Lorettonians and those who are not; men and women.

The membership of the Board at any one time is aimed at providing expertise in education, finance, law, property, marketing, the armed forces, child protection, spiritual guidance.